About Me

When I was young, I became interested in plants in general and trees in particular thanks to my grandfather. He took me to his kitchen garden and taught me to recognize the wood species in his amateur woodworker studio. Then I had the chance to do an internship early in my training cycle at the Forest Genetics Laboratory of INRA Avignon. A passion was born, I only swore by genes! I liked both the meticulous side of the laboratory and the mathematical mind used to understand the discipline. So I pursued a university degree in agronomy with a specialization in genetics, and then I went to work for 2 years as an International Volunteer in Congo. I continued the work started in Congo by defending a PhD at the University of Bordeaux. At this time (2010), genomics was going through a revolution with the advent of next generation sequencing at low cost. This period was really frustrating for me because I always had to ask a bioinformatician for help, so I decided to learn programming by myself. That's how I found myself aboard Tara Oceans, the project that revolutionized our knowledge about plankton by sequencing seawater at high throughput.

Career History

Research Associate

Station Biologique de Roscoff (CNRS)

Mediterranean Institute of Oceanology, Marseille (CNRS)

June 2016 - June 2018

As part of the ANR IMPEKAB project, I coordinated a lab experiment on Collodarians, a group of symbiotic and colonial zooplankton. The aim was to test their response to heat stress by studying both their physiology (photosynthesis and respiration), their anatomy (number of symbionts, presence of viral vesicles, etc.) and their gene expression (by RNA- Seq).

Research Associate

IGS Lab, Marseille (CNRS)

Institut de Biologie de l'ENS de Paris

May, 2012 - May, 2016

As Tara Oceans associate scientist, my particular task was to integrate the different types of data collected (metagenomics, imaging, physicochemical) to answer ecological questions. I worked on 4 major projects: 1. The Agulhas current associated turbulence 2. Fertilization surrounding the Marquesas Islands 3. Giant marine viruses (European MicroB3 project) 4. A website gathering data from Tara Oceans (Ocean Gene Atlas).

PhD Student

UMR BioGeCo de Bordeaux (INRA)

UMR AMAP de Montpellier (CIRAD)

CRDPI Pointe Noire (Rep. du Congo)

January 2008 - December 2011

During my PhD, I continued an experiment on eucalyptus that I had previously implemented in Congo (measures of plant physiology, sampling, maintenance of the device). The first year was dedicated to molecular biology with sequencing and gene expression analysis. The next 2 years were devoted to the statistical analysis of molecular and phenotypic data.

Engineer

UMR AMAP de Montpellier (CIRAD)

CRDPI Pointe Noire (Rep. of Congo)

December 2005 - December 2007

Under the supervision of CIRAD researchers based in Montpellier, I led the eucalyptus improvement program by coordinating the work of a team of about 10 people. Part of my time was spent organizing the establishment and monitoring of the field trials, and the rest of the time I analyzed the result of quantitative genetic crosses.

Master's degree

Pierre et Marie Curie University, Paris

September 2004 - September 2005

 

 

Genetics and Biodiversity Management

Bachelor's degree

Avignon University

September 2001 - September 2004

Agrosciences:

Phytoprotection and Improvement of Plant Productions

The little extra: the good mood!

During my collaborations, my greatest asset is my temperament: I naturally know how to make the working atmosphere harmonious, with a hint of humor, a lot of seriousness and a pinch of conviviality!

À propos de moi

Jeune, je me suis intéressée aux plantes en général et aux arbres en particulier sous l'influence de mon  grand-père, qui m'emmenait au potager avec lui et qui m’apprenait à reconnaitre les essences de bois dans son atelier de menuisier amateur. Ensuite, j'ai eu la chance de faire un stage assez tôt dans mon cursus au laboratoire de génétique forestière de l'INRA d'Avignon. Une passion était née, je ne jurais plus que par les gènes! J'aimais à la fois le côté minutieux du laboratoire et l'esprit mathématique nécessaire pour appréhender la discipline. J'ai donc poursuivi une formation universitaire en agronomie avec une spécialisation en génétique, et puis je suis partie travailler 2 ans en tant que Volontaire Internationale au Congo. Ensuite j'ai continué le travail commencé au Congo en passant une thèse à l'Université de Bordeaux. A cette époque (2010) la génomique était en train de vivre un grand tournant avec l'avènement du séquençage nouvelle génération à bas coût. Frustrée de ne pouvoir jouer moi-même avec  mes données car il me fallait toujours l'intermédiaire d'un bioinformaticien, j'ai décidé, diplôme en poche, d'apprendre à coder pour pouvoir appréhender le nouvel or numérique: les Big Data! C'est ainsi que je me suis retrouvée à bord de Tara, la goélette qui a révolutionné nos connaissances du plancton en relevant le défi technique de séquencer l'inconnu présent dans les milliers de m³ d'eau de mer.

Mon Parcours

Chercheuse associée

Station Biologique de Roscoff (CNRS)

Mediterranean Institute of Oceanology, Marseille (CNRS)

Juin 2016 - Juin 2018

Dans le cadre du projet ANR IMPEKAB, j'ai coordonné la mise en place d'une essai au laboratoire sur des collodaires, un groupe de zooplancton symbiotique et colonial. Il s'agissait de tester leur réponse au stress thermique en étudiant à la fois leur physiologie (photosynthèse et respiration), leur anatomie (nombre de symbiontes, présence de vésicules virales, etc...) et leur expression de gènes (par RNA-Seq).

Chercheuse associée

Laboratoire IGS de Marseille (CNRS)

Institut de Biologie de l'ENS de Paris

Mai 2012 - Mai 2016

Scientifique associée à l'expédition Tara Oceans, ma spécificité était d'intégrer les différents types de données récoltées (metagenomique, imagerie, physico-chimique) pour répondre à des questions écologiques. J'ai travaillé sur 4 grands projets: 1. Les turbulances du courant des Aiguilles 2. La fertilisation autour des îles Marquises 3. Les virus géants marins (projet européen MicroB3) 4. Un site web regroupant les données de Tara Océans (Ocean Gene Atlas).

Doctorante

UMR BioGeCo de Bordeaux (INRA)

UMR AMAP de Montpellier (CIRAD)

CRDPI Pointe Noire (Rep. du Congo)

Janvier 2008 - Décembre 2011

Au cours de ma thèse, j'ai poursuivi une expérimentation sur eucalyptus que j'avais mis précédemment en place au Congo (mesures de physiologie végétales, prélèvement, entretien du dispositif). La 1ère année j'ai surtout travaillé au laboratoire de biologie moléculaire en séquençage et analyse d'expression de gènes. Les 2 années suivantes ont été consacrées à l'analyse statistique des données moléculaires et phénotypiques.

ingénieure

UMR AMAP de Montpellier (CIRAD)

CRDPI Pointe Noire (Rep. du Congo)

Décembre 2005 - Décembre 2007

Sous la supervision de chercheurs du CIRAD restés à Montpellier, je poursuivais le programme d'amélioration de l'eucalyptus en coordonnant le travail d'une équipe d'environ 10 personnes. Une partie de mon temps était consacrée à organiser la mise en place et le suivi des essais aux champs, et le reste du temps j'analysais le résultat des croisements de génétique quantitative.

Master II

Université Pierre et Marie Curie, Paris

Septembre 2004 - Septembre 2005

 

 

Génétique et Gestion de la Biodiversité

DEUG, Licence & MaîtrisE

Université d'Avignon

Septembre 2001 - Septembre 2004

Agrosciences:

Phytoprotection et Amélioration des Productions Végétales

Le petit plus: la bonne humeur

Mon tempérament est un réel atout dans mes collaborations: je sais naturellement rendre l'ambiance de travail harmonieuse, avec un soupçon d'humour, beaucoup de sérieux et une pincée de convivialité!